Happy Australia Day

Happy Australia Day from down under!

I am blessed this country has had so much to offer me already, and can’t wait to see what else is in store.

This straya day was one that I never imagined. My friends and I original plan was to just go to the beach and hangout there, but I ended meeting a group of locals that invited me and all my American friends to their pool party and cookout. At first, a few of my friends were hesitant but we all ended up going.

The locals were sooo welcoming and made sure we all felt included and comfortable. We played games, chatted, ate some great food, and made new friends.

I remember I expressed to one of the locals, Elle, that I felt bad showing up to their cook out with a lot of Americans and that I hope we were not intruding on Australia day. Her reply touched my heart. She told me that Australia day is not about only Australians celebrating together, but for anyone who loves Australia as much as they do and appreciates the country. I’m happy to have spent Straya day with locals and got the chance to make new memories.

-Allie

Leave a comment